August 27, 2009

  • The Official Baby Swafford Name List...because we can't call them "Baby Swafford" forever!


    Here's some of my favorite baby names right now. I keep cycling through names that I like and then later don't like as much. So I'll keep updating this list, adding new names I find, and cutting those that I tire of.

    GIRLS: I like really feminine, classy names. They have to sound feminine, but also look feminine when written. For example, the name Madison. Sure, it sounds like a girl name, but written down it just looks too masculine for me.

    Alice
    Alivia
    Alohilani (Yes, this one is totally Hawaiian, it means "Bright Sky." I think maybe if she gets Jer's olive skin she could pull it off?)
    Ariel
    Demi
    Eden (Is this a stripper name? It just occurred to me. I don't think so.)
    Grace
    Harlow
    Leta
    Livia
    Olivia
    Reese
    Violet
    Willow

    BOYS: I want my boys to have really strong sounding, sturdy names. I also want it to fit anything. Like if they want to be a lawyer or a doctor I want their name to sound somewhat professional, but can also sound casual. I also want them to be somewhat traditional. I don't mind my girls having "out there" names, but I want my boy names to be a little more popular.

    Asher
    Beckett (Jer vetoed this one.)
    Brody (Jer doesn't like this one either. He seems to have a thing against "B" names.)
    Carter
    Desmond (My parents vetoed that one. Not that they really get a vote...haha. But I do consider their opinion. But we love Desmond from LOST!))
    Ethan
    Finn
    Henry
    Jasper
    Kai (This one is kinda "out there" but I love it! Also Hawaiian, for "ocean")
    Levi
    Liam
    Luke
    Matthew
    Oliver
    Parker
    Riley
    Rome/Roman
    Ryan
    Sawyer
    Tyson

    I doubt we'll actually have a name for the poor kid until they are born and we get a good look at them to see who/what they look like.

Comments (7)

  • I LIKE:

    Keagan the best. 

    and

    the majority of the boys' names.  Isn't Henry your dad's name?  I like that.  I like Asher too.

    I'm just thrilled that we don't have the same names on our lists!!!!!!!!!!!!  :)    Woohoo!

  • Likes: Alice, Alohilani, Grace, Violet, Finn, Henry, Oliver.  :)

  • @rphaney - Yes, Henry is my Dad's name! We will definitely have one if we have a boy but it may be the middle name. Just to avoid the confusion of two Henrys.

  • It's sad that we're so old that your kid might get away with Ariel.... :) (I also love Harlow and Reese.) I like Parker and Riley for boys. 

  • This is so fun! Out of the girls names I like Reese and Violet best. I think the Hawaiian name might be hard for people to spell and/or pronounce. Actually, I'm not sure how you're supposed to pronounce it. I like most of your boy names. 

  • I used to not like the name Eden.  But there was a lady at my old ward named Eden, and she was just so awesome.  

  • Congratulations on your pregnancy!  Motherhood is amazing. 

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment