October 27, 2009

  • 22 Weeks

    Well, there's definitely a baby in there. I've been able to feel her kick almost everyday this week! Mostly right after dinner or a sweet snack. It's like she gets this jolt of energy and between that and my full stomach, I get to feel all kinds of little pops, wiggles, kicks, rolls, and punches. A few nights ago Jeremy and I were able to SEE her punching through my stomach. I think they were punches, not kicks, because of where my stomach was moving. When we had the ultrasound, she was laying with her head in my lower left abdomen and her feet up to the right. And when I looked down to see my stomach pop, it was jumping just below and to the left of my belly button. So if she's still in that position, I think she was definitely hitting me. Jeremy was able to see and feel her kick/punch for the first time, so that was just amazing. It really shocked me. I didn't think you could see movement from the outside until much later. But that just goes to show how little I know about pregnancy.

    She's moving around a lot right now, maybe because I had a little chocolate ice cream just a little while ago?

    So I've finally gained some weight. Jeremy and I managed to get me down onto the floor onto the scale and I'm moving up again! At some point I think I'm supposed to be gaining a pound a week but I don't think I'm there yet. At least I hope not because that means I'm supposed to gain 18 pounds from this point. Which wouldn't be terrible I guess, but I don't really want to. It's already getting so hard to get around. Jeremy is going to be taking our bed off the frame and onto the ground soon so that it will be at the same level as my wheelchair. It's just too hard to transfer up into my tall bed. It's hard to do much of anything.

    It's getting impossible to go to classes. Especially on days when Jeremy's working and he can't take me. I'm spending a lot of time in bed to rest my back. I can't wait to get my power chair going so that I can recline during class sometimes. I considered withdrawing, but I can't imagine giving up on all the work I've already done. All those exams! All that stress! I can't bear to let it all go. It's getting hard to gather the motivation to keep going though. I feel kind of lost.

    My back is hurting pretty bad now, despite all the pillows I have stuffed back there. I'm gonna get in bed!

Comments (2)

  • It's so excited that you're feeling the baby move regularly and that Jeremy's been able to see/feel it too.  I am so excited for that but think we might have a little while for that to happen.  I feel movement down there but nothing where I've been 100% that it's the baby.  Sorry to hear your back has been in so much pain lately!

  • as someone who won't ever be able to be pregnant myself, i really appreciate you sharing all this!  i've enjoyed reading all of it.  oh, and my mom says she was in the best shape of her life when i was born, at age 39, so don't take the poundage recommendations too seriously...your OB ill tell you if you're not gaining enough!

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment